Introduction For every cricket player who represents a nation, his biggest dream is to win a World cup for his country. And for every cricketing Fan the wish is...


For every cricket player who represents a nation, his biggest dream is to win a World cup for his country. And for every cricketing Fan the wish is same, and even for people who doesn’t watch cricket they’ll love to see their country winning a trophy. Such big festival is the cricket world cup and all the cricketing nations are getting ready to celebrate the 12th men’s cricket world cup.

Host Nation

The 12th men’s cricket world cup is scheduled to be hosted by England and Wales from May 30th 2019 to July 14th 2019. Ten cities including London, Bristol, Manchester, Birmingham, Southampton, Leeds, Durham, Taunton, Cardiff, and Nottingham will host 48 matches including the final which will be played at the prestigious Lord’s cricket stadium London.

Format and countries participating

It is a 50 over format and ten countries are participating in the world cup where the top 8 teams of the Icc odi ranking (England, India, South Africa, New Zealand, Pakistan, Australia, Sri Lanka Bangladesh) was selected directly and rest two teams (Windies and Afghanistan) were selected by the qualifier matches held earlier in the year 2018. This time the matches will not be conducted in group format rather every team should play against rest of the nine teams and points will be rewarded for every victory and at the end top four teams will qualify for the next round that’s the semi-finals where two winners will be obtained and those two teams will play in the finals.

Team Preview

The host England will start as the favourites as they have a well-balanced and a settled team and their recent performances reflect the same, adding an home advantage England are clear pre-tournament favourites

India is also a strong contender for the world cup by performing well in home and away from home and with their captain Virat kholi being in top form

New Zealand is another stronger team with a much settled line up lead by a calm captain Kane Williamson which is their biggest strength

South Africa must be slightly weaker considering the retirement of their star AB Devillers but will be certain to win their first ever world cup

Australia are now struggling with the combinations and performances but who knows and world cup can bring out their full strength

Pakistan is the underdog’s considering their surprise victory in the champion’s trophy in the year 2017

Sri Lanka has been down for the past few years but will not go down without a fight

Windies the champions of the inaugural edition of world cup are now considered as a weak team but can expect some entertainment from the Caribbean’s

Afghanistan Bangladesh will start as minnow’s but can expect some major upsets form them.

Players to watch out on their first world cup


  • Ben Stokes
  • Jason Roy
  • Johnny Bairstow


  • Fakhar Zaman
  • Babar Azam
  • Hasan Ali


  • Hardik Pandya
  • Jasprit Bumrah
  • Kuldeep Yadav

New Zealand

  • Mitchel Santner
  • Colin Munro


  • Marcus Stoinis
  • Pat Cummins

South Africa

  • Aiden Markram
  • Kagiso Rabada


  • Mustafizur Rahman
  • Mehidy Hasan


  • Rashid Khan
  • Mujeeb Zadran


  • Evin Lewis

Players for whom it could be last world cup

MS Dhoni-India

Hashim Amla-South Africa

Shoaib Malik-Pakistan

Chris Gayle-Windies

Ross Taylor-New Zealand

Upul Tharanga-Sri Lanka

Overall the cricketing world is waiting for an exciting tournament which could give those lots of surprises, memories and quite a few upsets and we can expect the unexpected as we all know cricket is a funny game.

Catch the updates about the cricket tournaments in Chennai, cricket tournaments in Bangalore, cricket tournament in Delhi, cricket tournaments in Mumbai.


No Comment

Leave a Reply